4 things to verifyFranchisor financials: high concern

Five Iron Golf — full diligence report

The average Five Iron Golf unit reports $128k/mo in revenue.

Opening one costs $2.0M–$4.7M.

DisclosedItem 19 · 20 units reporting · Item 7 · 37 open units · 2026 FDD

Both figures are the franchisor’s own, straight out of the disclosure document. What is masked below is the rest of the analysis — and the capital check that follows measures your cash against that opening range.

14 sections · 123 cited figures · 0 operational tripwires · 10 diligence questions

Everything below is in the report. Every figure is cited to an FDD Item and page, and labelled with where the number came from. The labels are free. The numbers are what you are buying.

Franchise Edge automates franchise diligence. We read the franchisor’s own Franchise Disclosure Document — the filing a franchisor is legally required to hand you at least 14 days before you sign anything or pay anything — and run the work that takes a buyer weeks by hand: every disclosed cost, the unit economics behind the headline, the full fee stack, and what happened to the units that opened before you.

Your analysis is ready. The framework is below — every section, every cited figure, every question, exactly as it appears in the report.

New to FDDs? Here is what is in one

An FDD runs to 23 numbered Items and a few hundred pages. Four of them do most of the work in this report:

  • Item 7— what it costs to open, low to high. That is the range above, and it is the franchisor’s own estimate.
  • Item 19 — what units actually earn. A franchisor is not required to publish one at all; when it is missing, or when it reports profit where you expected revenue, that is itself a finding.
  • Item 20 — openings, closures, transfers and terminations, year by year. This is where churn shows up, and where a growth story either holds or does not.
  • Item 6 — the ongoing fees. Royalty and ad fund get quoted on a discovery call; the rest of the list usually does not.

Every figure in the report is cited to its Item and page, so you can check any of it against the document yourself.

Questions before you buy? jason@foundersplinko.com — a person, not a ticket queue.

Disclosedstated in this FDDDerivedour calculation from disclosed figuresBenchmarkour industry range, because the FDD does not disclose itInferredAI classification
Drag to enter the capital you have available.

Against the total investment the franchisor discloses in Item 7. What it means for your loan, your coverage ratio and your payback is locked.

What it costs to open

14 locked

Item 7, as the franchisor states it. 14 line items.

Initial Franchise FeeDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Real Estate, Lease, Utility and Security DepositsDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Leasehold ImprovementsDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Design & Architectural FeesDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Furniture, Fixtures, and EquipmentDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Interior and Exterior SignageDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Computer SystemDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Professional FeesDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Opening InventoryDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Opening SuppliesDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Grand Opening ProgramDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Training ExpensesDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Duckpin BowlingDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Total investmentDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked

Buyer-fit underwriting

5 locked

What the deal asks of you, against what you told us you have.

Capital gapDerivedLocked
Loan neededDerivedLocked
Net worth requirementDisclosedItem 5Locked
Liquid capital requirementDisclosedItem 5Locked
Margin after fees, rent and debtDerivedLocked

The cash ladder — Franchised Centers Average Gross Sales

13 locked

13 rungs, monthly, from disclosed revenue down to what the operator actually keeps. Every rung is labeled with where its number came from.

1. Gross revenueDisclosedLocked
2. − Franchise feesDisclosedLocked
3. − Fixed monthly feesDisclosedLocked
4. − Rent & occupancyDisclosedLocked
5. = Margin after fees & rentDerivedLocked

Not profit. Cost of goods, labor and operating costs have not been subtracted yet.

6. − Cost of goodsBenchmarkLocked
7. − LaborBenchmarkLocked
8. − Other operating costsBenchmarkLocked
9. = Operating EBITDABenchmarkLocked

Before debt service, owner compensation, depreciation and taxes. The modeled cost range straddles zero: at its favorable end this unit turns an operating profit, and at its unfavorable end it does not turn one at all. The range is this wide because cost of goods, labor and other operating costs are not disclosed in an FDD and are modeled from category bands.

10. − Debt serviceDerivedLocked
11. = Cash after debt, before owner drawBenchmarkLocked

The operator has not been paid out of this yet. Rung 9 straddles zero, so this rung inherits that: the unfavorable end of the modeled cost range leaves nothing to draw from.

12. Debt-service coverage ratioBenchmarkLocked

Lenders typically want 1.25 or better: $1.25 of operating profit for every $1.00 of loan payment. This ratio inherits rung 9's straddle: at the unfavorable end of the modeled cost range there is no operating profit to cover the payment at all, so the low end of this range is negative and no lender would underwrite it.

13. Years to recover the build-outBenchmarkLocked

Recovery of the build-out only, and it does not include the operator's own time. At the low end of the modeled cost range the unit does not generate operating profit, so the build-out is never recovered.

How you pay for it

9 locked

The loan this unit would need, and whether the unit can carry it.

Loan amountDerivedLocked
RateBenchmarkLocked
TermBenchmarkLocked
Monthly paymentDerivedLocked
Cash you put inDerivedLocked
Cash after debtDerivedLocked
Return on your cashDerivedLocked
Debt-service coverage ratioDerivedLocked
What this unit could supportDerivedLocked

Ongoing fees and hidden costs

9 locked

9 separate charges in the agreement. Most buyers find four.

RoyaltyDisclosedItem 6Locked
Brand Fund ContributionDisclosedItem 6Locked
Local AdvertisingDisclosedItem 6Locked
Regional Co-OpDisclosedItem 6Locked
Technology FeeDisclosedItem 6Locked
Mindbody POS FeeDisclosedItem 6Locked
Trackman License Fee (per simulator bay)DisclosedItem 6Locked
Initial Training Rescheduling FeeDisclosedItem 6Locked
Convention FeeDisclosedItem 6Locked

What units actually make

6 locked

The franchisor's own numbers, and how wide the spread really is.

Company Centers Average Gross SalesDisclosedItem 19, pp. 48-51Locked
Select Company Centers Average Gross SalesDisclosedItem 19, pp. 48-51Locked
Franchised Centers Average Gross SalesDisclosedItem 19, pp. 48-51Locked
Company Centers EBITDADisclosedItem 19, pp. 48-51Locked
Select Company Centers EBITDADisclosedItem 19, pp. 48-51Locked
Units reportedDisclosedItem 19, pp. 48-51Locked

What we found in the document

0 locked

10 Items located and parsed. Every figure above cites one of them.

Item 1Item 5Item 6Item 7Item 11Item 12Item 17Item 19Item 20Item 21

Before you commit

4 locked

4 things this document cannot settle, and how to settle them.

Item 19 earnings basisDisclosures to reviewOperational tripwiresFranchisor financial condition
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding

Franchisor financial condition

12 locked

12 findings from the audited statements.

1 high
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding

Operational tripwires

0 locked

No clause here carried enough detail to report. That is not a clean bill of health — Items 8, 12 and 17 are where these live.

System scale and turnover

5 locked

Item 20, year-end.

Item 20's own outlet table does not close: the outlets the franchisor states were open at the start of the year, plus the year's openings, less the year's closures, do not come to the year-end count in the same table. One of those four figures is wrong, or Table 3 breaks closures out in a column this reading missed. Ask the franchisor to walk you from Table 1 to Table 3 before you rely on any turnover figure — the one on this page or the one in the document.

Total unitsDisclosedItem 20, pp. 52-53Locked
OpenedDisclosedItem 20, pp. 52-53Locked
ClosedDisclosedItem 20, pp. 52-53Locked
Changed handsDisclosedItem 20, pp. 52-53Locked
Owner turnoverDerivedLocked

28 outlets were open at the start of the year, as Item 20 Table 1 discloses. Every rate below is a share of that starting count, not of today's.

Leaving — renewal, exit and transfer

31 locked

Item 17, counted rather than characterised. 19 terms the table states, across how long you are in, how it ends, how you sell it and what happens after — plus the grounds it gives each side to end the agreement, and 12 questions to take to a franchisee.

How long you are inHow it endsHow you sell itWhat happens after
Initial termDisclosedItem 17, pp. 39-47Locked
RenewalDisclosedLocked
Longest possible holdDisclosedLocked
Cost to renewDisclosedLocked
Renewal is on the then-current agreementDisclosedLocked
Franchisor may terminate without causeDisclosedLocked
Defaults you can cureDisclosedLocked
Defaults you cannot cureDisclosedLocked
Grounds the table gives you to terminateDisclosedLocked
Franchisor approval required to transferDisclosedLocked
Conditions for approvalDisclosedLocked
Right of first refusalDisclosedLocked
On death or disabilityDisclosedLocked
Non-compete after you leaveDisclosedLocked
RadiusDisclosedLocked
Non-compete while you are inDisclosedLocked
How disputes are resolvedDisclosedLocked
WhereDisclosedLocked
Under which state's lawDisclosedLocked
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding

Who to call, and what to ask

9 locked

10 questions, grouped for operators running a unit today, operators who left last year.

What do you actually run for cost of goods, as a percent of sales?
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding

Who runs it

6 locked

6 executives, with tenure and prior operating history.

Chief Executive OfficerChief Legal OfficerChief Development OfficerGeneral CounselSenior Vice President, StrategySenior Vice President of Franchising
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding

Unlock the full diligence report

14 sections · 123 cited figures · instant access

Unlock the full report — $199

One report, one brand, instant access. Not a subscription.

Not sure where to start with a franchise?

Get our free Playbook — the 90-day checklist, cost worksheets, and location math the pros use, in plain English.

No spam. The Playbook, then occasional notes as you go. Unsubscribe anytime. This email is not the report.