1 thing to verifyFranchisor financials: moderate concern
Lightspeed Restoration — full diligence report
The median Lightspeed Restoration unit reports $49k/mo in revenue.
Opening one costs $157k–$269k.
DisclosedItem 19 · 13 units reporting · Item 7 · 40 open units · 2026 FDD
Both figures are the franchisor’s own, straight out of the disclosure document. What is masked below is the rest of the analysis — and the capital check that follows measures your cash against that opening range.
Everything below is in the report. Every figure is cited to an FDD Item and page, and labelled with where the number came from. The labels are free. The numbers are what you are buying.
Franchise Edge automates franchise diligence. We read the franchisor’s own Franchise Disclosure Document — the filing a franchisor is legally required to hand you at least 14 days before you sign anything or pay anything — and run the work that takes a buyer weeks by hand: every disclosed cost, the unit economics behind the headline, the full fee stack, and what happened to the units that opened before you.
Your analysis is ready. The framework is below — every section, every cited figure, every question, exactly as it appears in the report.
New to FDDs? Here is what is in one
An FDD runs to 23 numbered Items and a few hundred pages. Four of them do most of the work in this report:
Item 7— what it costs to open, low to high. That is the range above, and it is the franchisor’s own estimate.
Item 19 — what units actually earn. A franchisor is not required to publish one at all; when it is missing, or when it reports profit where you expected revenue, that is itself a finding.
Item 20 — openings, closures, transfers and terminations, year by year. This is where churn shows up, and where a growth story either holds or does not.
Item 6 — the ongoing fees. Royalty and ad fund get quoted on a discovery call; the rest of the list usually does not.
Every figure in the report is cited to its Item and page, so you can check any of it against the document yourself.
Disclosedstated in this FDDDerivedour calculation from disclosed figuresBenchmarkour industry range, because the FDD does not disclose itInferredAI classification
Drag to enter the capital you have available.
Against the total investment the franchisor discloses in Item 7. What it means for your loan, your coverage ratio and your payback is locked.
What it costs to open
14 locked
Item 7, as the franchisor states it. 14 line items.
Initial Franchise FeeDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Initial Territory FeeDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Travel and Living Expenses While TrainingDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14 – Locked
VehicleDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14 – Locked
Real Estate Rent and Security DepositsDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14 – Locked
Initial Equipment PackageDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14Locked
Technology Systems PackageDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14 – Locked
Office Equipment, Furniture and SuppliesDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14 – Locked
Credit Card Processing TechnologyDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14 – Locked
Contractor's License and BondsDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14 – Locked
Licenses and CertificationsDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14 – Locked
Professional FeesDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14 – Locked
Initial MarketingDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14 – Locked
Total investmentDisclosedItem 7, pp. 13-14 – Locked
Buyer-fit underwriting
5 locked
What the deal asks of you, against what you told us you have.
Capital gapDerivedLocked
Loan neededDerivedLocked
Net worth requirementDisclosedItem 5Locked
Liquid capital requirementDisclosedItem 5Locked
Margin after fees, rent and debtDerivedLocked
The cash ladder — Single Territory Franchisees - Median Sales
13 locked
13 rungs, monthly, from disclosed revenue down to what the operator actually keeps. Every rung is labeled with where its number came from.
1. Gross revenueDisclosedLocked
2. − Franchise feesDisclosedLocked
3. − Fixed monthly feesDisclosedLocked
4. − Rent & occupancyDisclosedLocked
5. = Margin after fees & rentDerivedLocked
Not profit. Cost of goods, labor and operating costs have not been subtracted yet.
6. − Cost of goodsBenchmark – Locked
7. − LaborBenchmark – Locked
8. − Other operating costsBenchmark – Locked
9. = Operating EBITDABenchmark – Locked
Before debt service, owner compensation, depreciation and taxes. The modeled cost range straddles zero: at its favorable end this unit turns an operating profit, and at its unfavorable end it does not turn one at all. The range is this wide because cost of goods, labor and other operating costs are not disclosed in an FDD and are modeled from category bands.
10. − Debt serviceDerivedLocked
11. = Cash after debt, before owner drawBenchmark – Locked
All cash, so this is rung 9 unchanged. The operator has not been paid out of this yet. Rung 9 straddles zero, so this rung inherits that: the unfavorable end of the modeled cost range leaves nothing to draw from.
12. Debt-service coverage ratioDerivedLocked
13. Years to recover the build-outBenchmarkLocked
Recovery of the build-out only, and it does not include the operator's own time. At the low end of the modeled cost range the unit does not generate operating profit, so the build-out is never recovered.
How you pay for it
9 locked
The loan this unit would need, and whether the unit can carry it.
Loan amountDerivedLocked
RateBenchmarkLocked
TermBenchmarkLocked
Monthly paymentDerivedLocked
Cash you put inDerivedLocked
Cash after debtDerived – Locked
Return on your cashDerived – Locked
Debt-service coverage ratioDerivedLocked
What this unit could supportDerivedLocked
Ongoing fees and hidden costs
9 locked
9 separate charges in the agreement. Most buyers find four.
Royalty Fee (Tier 1)DisclosedItem 6Locked
Royalty Fee (Tier 2)DisclosedItem 6Locked
National Advertising Fund PaymentDisclosedItem 6Locked
Local Area Marketing (ceiling)DisclosedItem 6Locked
The franchisor's own numbers, and how wide the spread really is.
Single Territory Franchisees - Average SalesDisclosedItem 19, pp. 43-45Locked
Multiple Territory Franchisees - Average SalesDisclosedItem 19, pp. 43-45Locked
Single Territory Franchisees - Median SalesDisclosedItem 19, pp. 43-45Locked
Multiple Territory Franchisees - Median SalesDisclosedItem 19, pp. 43-45Locked
Units reportedDisclosedItem 19, pp. 43-45Locked
What we found in the document
0 locked
7 Items located and parsed. Every figure above cites one of them.
Item 1Item 5Item 6Item 7Item 19Item 20Item 21
Before you commit
1 locked
1 things this document cannot settle, and how to settle them.
Item 19 earnings basis
Locked finding
Franchisor financial condition
9 locked
9 findings from the audited statements.
1 medium
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Operational tripwires
2 locked
2 clauses that change what you signed up for.
2 medium
Locked finding
Locked finding
System scale and turnover
5 locked
Item 20, year-end.
Total unitsDisclosedItem 20, p. 45Locked
OpenedDisclosedItem 20, p. 45Locked
ClosedDisclosedItem 20, p. 45Locked
Changed handsDisclosedItem 20, p. 45Locked
Owner turnoverDerivedLocked
27 outlets were open at the start of the year, as Item 20 Table 1 discloses, and the year's openings and closures reconcile to the year-end count stated in the same table. Every rate below is a share of that starting count, not of today's.
Leaving — renewal, exit and transfer
31 locked
Item 17, counted rather than characterised. 19 terms the table states, across how long you are in, how it ends, how you sell it and what happens after — plus the grounds it gives each side to end the agreement, and 12 questions to take to a franchisee.
How long you are inHow it endsHow you sell itWhat happens after
Initial termDisclosedItem 17, pp. 39-41Locked
RenewalDisclosedLocked
Longest possible holdDisclosedLocked
Cost to renewDisclosedLocked
Renewal is on the then-current agreementDisclosedLocked
Franchisor may terminate without causeDisclosedLocked
Defaults you can cureDisclosedLocked
Defaults you cannot cureDisclosedLocked
Grounds the table gives you to terminateDisclosedLocked
Franchisor approval required to transferDisclosedLocked
Conditions for approvalDisclosedLocked
Right of first refusalDisclosedLocked
On death or disabilityDisclosedLocked
Non-compete after you leaveDisclosedLocked
RadiusDisclosedLocked
Non-compete while you are inDisclosedLocked
How disputes are resolvedDisclosedLocked
WhereDisclosedLocked
Under which state's lawDisclosedLocked
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Who to call, and what to ask
13 locked
14 questions, grouped for operators running a unit today, operators who left last year, placing whoever answers the phone.
What do you actually run for cost of goods, as a percent of sales?
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Locked finding
Who runs it
4 locked
4 executives, with tenure and prior operating history.
Group PresidentVP of OperationsChief Executive Officer and President of HFCChief Financial Officer of HFC